Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: All adware/spyware programmers need to be shot.

Default All adware/spyware programmers need to be shot.

Last night, I was simply looking for some lyrics when I stumbled on this website that royally screwed my machine. As soon as the site loaded, WHAM!!!! Started installing all sorts of crap and shut down all my browser windows. Then I started getting all sorts of DLL Errors.

Now I'm not a computer novice by any means... one look at my lab and you'll know that... (6 LAN'd machines, including one web-server, one multimedia machine for recording, etc.) I'm normally really good at getting rid of spy-ware, but this one has me stumped... I've run McAfee Virus scan, Ad-aware, Spybot, and HijackThis several times. McAfee, AAW and SB don't find anything else after their first two runs...

The result... I now have a machine with a huge ad for Spyware Removal tools on the desktop, I cannot right click anything on the desktop except the taskbar, and I cannot see my desktop background. I do a task-list and there's always a file running with a random 3 letter name, like Thu.exe or Sur.exe or Trz.exe. Each file uses 894 bytes of memory and even though I end-process them and delete them from my machine, every time I reboot, I get the same damn thing (just maybe different letters). I did a search for all 3-letter.exe (using ???.exe) file names on the machine and found about 15 of them w/ random letters, the first is always capitalized, and they are all 10k in size. I deleted these and reboot. Wham! They're back, different letters, but same thing... always first one capitalized, and 10k size.